Home > Uncategorized > Beauty/Grace Part 2

Beauty/Grace Part 2

I generally avoid blogging about things other than training and what’s going on in my life, but I saw this picture and couldn’t help but post about it. Some things are too beautiful not to share.

If you haven’t seen this picture floating around the web, it shows Egyptian Christians forming a human shield around Muslims while they are praying to protect them from violence.  I can’t help but tear up looking at this picture.  While I absolutely understand that the world isn’t perfect, this picture and this act gives me hope.  I am an unabashed optimist and never quite lost that youthful idealism despite various circumstances in my life.  I believe in love and grace and prayer and I believe that the world can be changed for the better.  And it’s men and women like these who spur on that hope.  I hope to be found among their company if ever in a similar situation.

Having lived in the Middle East, the situation in Egypt has a very personal significance to me.  My heart is breaking for the people there and every day I hope for a peaceful, positive resolution.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 4, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks for sharing – this is really important

  2. February 4, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    I hadn’t seen this, but WOW. It really brings hope to my heart. Some things are right in the world.

  3. February 4, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Wow, I am so glad you posted this, I hadn’t seen it before. It gives me hope too.

  4. February 7, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    LOVE this. Thanks for sharing it!

  5. February 12, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Love it! True Christianity at work. Helping and supporting others even though their views may be different than their own. LOVE!!!

  1. February 4, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

