Home > Uncategorized > “Snow” Days

“Snow” Days

It’s a well known fact that, on the occasion there is frozen precipitation falling from the sky, most of the southern states shut down.  We had such an occasion yesterday morning.  Along with a good portion of the United States, we were subjected to freezing temperatures and that precipitation we affectionately refer to as snow (but let’s be honest, Texas snow is rarely really snow, mostly it’s ice).  Although the accumulation was minimal (maybe an inch or so), it was enough to shut down the majority of the city for both yesterday and today.

Not being one to waste my days and having started my crossfit/paleo challenge yesterday, I wasn’t going sit around the apartment all day.  Yesterday I went to CFDC to work out since it was the only place within striking distance that was open.  Then I went shopping to restock my kitchen and replenish/create my stores for the next 45 days of cooking/eating paleo.

This morning I was scheduled to be in trial, but when I woke up, I was greeted with a text saying that the court in which I was scheduled was closed, so I had another free day.

Having already planned on going to Crossfit Deep today, I decided to go to the noon class.

Here’s what we were up to in a gym that was maybe 2 degrees warmer than the 13 degrees outside (seriously, it was frickin’ cold!).

The workout was 10 rounds of 5 thrusters, 10 pullups, and 10 burpees all for time.  It was a beating, but in a good way 🙂

Tonight was my first foray into paleo cooking.  I was going to cook last night, but after spending so long at Target and then Central Market, I was beat so ate at Cafe Brazil.

I cooked blackened cajun chicken and had cubed sweet potatoes as a side.  Dessert was a strawberry and blueberry mix.  It was delish!  Here’s a picture.  It wasn’t fancy, but I thought it turned out alright 🙂

In Trakkers related news, you’ll notice that I have put up my sponsors on the right side of the page.  As I become better acquainted with and use the products (read bike, shoes, SBR product), I will absolutely be updating you on how they are going for me.  If you noticed, there are some new sponsors over the past few days.  One of them is All3Sports.  They have graciously given a discount that you can see there below the picture.  Click on the pic and use the code for all your triathlon needs!  Second is that Rev3 has given us the opportunity to extend $10 discounts to friends and family who want to race in a Rev3 race!  Seriously, these are great people who put on great races so you should come race with us! Again, click on the picture and use the code for a $10 discount!

Alright, bed’s calling and there is another CF workout awaiting me in the morning, so I’m out!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. liverpoolfaninasia
    February 3, 2011 at 5:04 am

    Sounds brutal

  2. February 3, 2011 at 5:59 am

    Nice blog! You folks in the south crack me up over a little snow. I know, it’s not you, it’s all those other folks. Good luck on the Paleo diet and Crossfit. Ben Greenfield has a good article on Tri’s and Crossfit. Also, I’ll be down at Grapevine first of April if you want to go for a ride together.

  3. February 3, 2011 at 7:45 am

    Way to go! I was lazy on my snow day – I did make it to the gym 🙂 I can’t wait for winter to be over!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

