Home > Bucket List > The 45 Day Crossfit/Paleo Challenge

The 45 Day Crossfit/Paleo Challenge

Tomorrow I start the first of my 30 year bucket list items, the 45 day Crossfit Challenge.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Crossfit, here is a little bit about the program.  One article says, “the CrossFit prescription is ‘constantly varied, high-intensity, functional movement.'” The main site says that it “is the principal strength and conditioning program for many police academies and tactical operations teams, military special operations units, champion martial artists, and hundreds of other elite and professional athletes worldwide.”  The workouts are classified as “workouts of the day” or WODs.  I could describe them to you, but it wouldn’t do them justice.  When they say “high intensity” they mean it.  These workouts are not for the faint of heart.  The gyms are meant to be garage gyms, no shine, no fancy machines, just men and women getting after it and learning how to be functionally fit.

One of the more recent developments is Crossfit Endurance (CFE).  This is, as it sounds, crossfit principles applied to endurance athletes, runners and triathletes being the primary targets.  Triathlete Magazine recently ran a story about the movement and how it is impacting the world of triathlon and specifically the training maxims by which we all live.  CFE focuses on eliminating unnecessary volume of training while increasing intensity.  The founders posit some interesting thoughts on the traditional, LSD training here.  I am intrigued by the notion, as well as the results that a group of CFE athletes had at IM Lake Placid this year (the subject of the magazine article).  I say intrigued, but if you read my bucket list, you know I’m planning on getting my CFE certification (and have found one in April only a couple hours away from Dallas).  I am going through the traditional training for Rev3 Cedar Point this year, but will probably shift toward CFE next season and see how comparable the results are.

For the 45 day challenge, I will be doing a Crossfit workout every day.  The WODs vary, and I will include CFE WODs as well, but every day there will be a CF WOD in my schedule.  There are boxes (the term for a CF gym) all over the US (and the world), but I will be focusing on four primary boxes.  CF Richardson is the host box for this challenge.  I will be there at least three times a week.  The other boxes with which I have relationships through work are Crossfit Dallas Central, Crossfit Deep, and Crossfit Uptown.  I CFDC in particular has a CFE program so I will try to get there at least twice a week.  As you can see if you click the links, the WODs are not uniform between boxes so there will be plenty of muscle confusion for me 🙂

The other element of this challenge is that I will be eating Paleo for the next 45 days.  As most of you know, I have been vegan for the past year and a half.  I chose to eat vegan because of health reasons and I needed to radically change my eating habits.  I have loved the results that I have seen.  Many crossfitters eat Paleo, and I have seen firsthand how it has helped their performance.  Since I like to try new things, when I heard about this challenge I thought it would be a great opportunity to give it a go.  The basic tenants of the Paleo (also called the Caveman) diet are that you eat only what was available to our Paleolithic ancestors.  That primarily means no dairy, no grains, and no sugars while adding in lean meats for your protein.  It generally eliminates processed foods as well (there is a “4 ingredient rule” where anything with more than 4 ingredients is eliminated).  While I am not one to jump on “fad” diets, I don’t feel that this is one.  The movement in the endurance community especially seems to be inching toward a comparably Paleodiet.  Even Joe Friel, of The Triathlete’s Bible fame, uses this as his nutritional plan and co-wrote a book about it.

All that to say, I’m interested in how the next 45 days plays out.  The challenge will run from February 1 until March 18.  My first race will fall right before the end of that time, so I will be particularly interested in how/if my time improves and/or if I feel better for the new eating plan.  I will post pictures every 5 days to see how my body is changing (before pics will be forthcoming as soon as I get them) and I will certainly blog at the end of the process with my thoughts and plans moving forward from there.

So keep me accountable!  Ask me how it’s going.  If I haven’t put up pictures, call me out on it. 🙂

  1. January 31, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    I have recently switched over to a Paleo diet – mine mostly to drop a few lbs. and try and clear up my digestive track. I don’t eat any jerky, but I do have lots and lots of fruits, nuts, eggs and veggies. (and chicken – man I have cooked a LOT of chicken) (I have always been a meat eater though and I’ve been gluten free for 6 years) I really like it, I just feel better!

  2. January 31, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Good luck! I am impressed with your tenacity to try two new things at once. Can’t wait to hear about your progress. I may look into crossfit after IMTX.

  3. January 31, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    Looking forward to watching your progress. I find Crossfit intriguing, but not sure if I could sacrifice traditional tri training for it.

  4. savannah
    February 1, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Good luck! I can’t wait to hear how it works out for you. I am considering adding crossfit into my training.

  5. February 2, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Look forward to hearing how this all goes. 🙂 I eat mostly vegetarian, but when I get a hankerin for a big ol’ piece o meat.. I have it. Like the yummy delicious burger I was craving after my long workout on Sunday. Best burger I’ve ever had… considering I’ve probably had a total of 5 burgers in the last 10 or 15 years. 🙂

  1. January 31, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

