Home > Uncategorized > Rest is Silence

Rest is Silence

I haven’t written in a few days.  School picked up over the past couple weeks and even though I am finally loving school again (and life in general) I just didn’t have too much to say.  But it got me thinking about silence, and here’s the thing:

Some people are afraid of silence.

The “do we need to talk” silence.  The “have I hurt your feelings” silence.  The “are you pissed?” silence.

And here’s the thing about me:

I love silence.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to talk (and probably talk more than I should).  I have just never been the guy who is afraid of silence.  If I don’t have anything to say, I don’t say it.  I don’t feel the need to fill the air with words.  I enjoy going out and being in groups, but I love the thought of sitting on a couch by myself or with a significant other, music playing, just reading, or even just sitting there watching a movie.  For me, silence is comforting.  It’s familiarity. It’s rest.

I love running in silence. I love letting my mind be at peace.  For all the times I talk too much, I think too much even more often.  I think myself dizzy (isn’t that the lyric of a song?).  My favorite runs are those where I’m just running, listening to nothing but my feet on the pavement, the breath in my lungs, and the beating of my heart.  In those moments, those moments of zen, my mind isn’t running through what I have to do for school or work or life.  It’s such a freeing feeling.  It’s a catharsis that I have found in a precious few activities.

I hope you enjoy the silent moments in your life.  I have a relatively easy life in which to find silence.  Maybe you don’t.  Maybe you have children or animals or family that fill it up with noise, not bad noise at all (and that noise I’m a little jealous of), but noise.  I hope you have those sacred moments of silence in your life, and that you share those with the ones you love!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 26, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    This is exactly why I LOVE yoga.

  2. January 26, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Lol… ditto what Beth said.

    • January 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm

      agreed! Love me a good vinyasa 🙂

  3. January 27, 2011 at 8:32 am

    Silence is one of my favorite things ever. I hardly ever even wear an iPod when I run for this very reason!

  4. January 27, 2011 at 8:55 am

    That is why I don’t use music on the run, it is the only time I really get that beautiful silence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

