Home > Uncategorized > Goals, Part 4 – 1,5, and 10 Year Goals and the Wookie

Goals, Part 4 – 1,5, and 10 Year Goals and the Wookie

Here we are at the end of my the goals series.  I was going to split this post in three, but decided to put it together and see how it goes.

After determining my core values and my hedgehog and writing my 10 year vision, the last step in the goal making process was to write out my actual goals.  There are a few things that I kept in mind while writing them.  The first is that the goals be SMART.  This is a common acronym that stands for the preposition that goals are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant (sometimes Realistic), and Timely.  Thus, the goals I have written are not generalities (i.e., be healthy).  There are both specific timeframes (by whens) and criteria that must be met to have accomplished the goal.

The second idea, and the more interesting one, comes into conflict with that to an extent.  In each section, one, five and ten years, I have what is referred to as the BHAG.  This stands for the Big, Hairy, Audacious Goal (or Big, Hairy A** Goal as I thought it meant for a while and still secretly call it).  I like to call this my Wookie (he and Rico hang out quite a bit).  This goal is the goal that is out of the reach of attainability, but not so far as to be impossible.  I love this idea.  I love the fact that there is a level where you are setting a goal for yourself at which you will possibly (and maybe probably) fail.  If you are setting goals and you meet every one of them, you probably aren’t reaching far enough or dreaming big enough.  There is a philosophy that you should fail at 50% of your goals.  While I don’t know that I’d go that far, I do think that those who don’t have failures probably are settling for mediocrity on some level.  While the little control freak inside me is screaming right now, I love the fact that I know I will fail in some areas.  Hopefully it’s the exception, but if I’m not failing, then I’m not going big enough 🙂

Anyway, those are the additional thoughts that informed these goals.  So here they are!

A couple notes:

You can see that the goals are separated into health, career, and personal.  When I wrote my goals almost a year ago, my health goals were all related to physical health.  This was indicative of where I was personally.  I have now, as I should have then, included the things that are going to contribute to my overall health (physical, mental, emotional).  There is no justification of the goals, they are meant to be in 15 words or less.  Some goals will be completed before their by when, but I have put the latest that the goal should be finished as the official by when.  The goals that are in red are my BHAGS.  And finally, goals are meant to be dynamic, not static.  I will refresh these goals every six months as I complete some and modify others.

I have added a page to the blog with everything together (10 year vision, core values, hedgehog, and goals).  Enjoy and any feedback y’all want to give would be well taken 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 13, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    I really like the ‘almost but maybe not out of reach goal’ idea. I think if you dream big, even if you fail at that goal you find something even better and more right for you!!

    • January 13, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      I agree. What is the quote, “aim for the stars so that even if you fail you hit the moon?” Or something like that anyway 🙂

  2. January 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Wow… it’s hard core to look at it on paper like that. Good for you. You have some good ones on there. I also completely agree with you that it’s so important to look at all areas of your life. Without that balance, none of the other stuff works either. I love that you have a goal to do date night once a week. Good one. 🙂

    • January 13, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      Yeah, and balance was a part of what my life was lacking. I’m working on it, and even how I’ve been thinking about my goals this go ’round has reflected the shift in my thinking.

      Date night is definitely important. Can’t wait until I have someone to have date nights with 🙂

  3. January 13, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    So cool that you’re able to put it out there. I might be too scared… I’m impressed.

    • January 13, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      Thanks. I bet you could put them out there. It’s hard and leaves me more vulnerable than maybe ever (or at least on a larger scale), but the upside of support and encouragement overcomes any fear I had of posting 🙂

  4. January 14, 2011 at 9:25 am

    omg I love this!!! 🙂 You are so organized and I’m amazed at your follow through. My goals are never this organized! I try, but invariably get derailed (as in the early comment about 10 years from now I’m 45 and my kids are entering HS.. I freak and run.. ha Maybe I don’t need to state those two things as they are understood. anyway)…. I am going to set my January goal of hashing through this as you have! 🙂 It’s good stuff. If you have questions about that vegan/raw thing hit me up. I’ve been there done that … come and gone and could certainly give you insight. I will say that I think your goal of vegan 3x week and 75% raw is awesome! Not too extreme.. very sustainable, healthy and environmentally sound. I think I like you and I haven’t even met you! Can’t wait until we are all together for races!!! How oh how did MB find so many like minded individuals in that huge pile of applications?? I’ll never know! Thanks for the inspiration on the goals man!

    • January 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Thanks. It is amazing how the team is made up. Very providential. 🙂

      Yeah, I’ve been eating vegan for over a year now, but during the past few months haven’t been cooking so my goal is to get back to that so I eat more balanced than I have been.

      Good luck in working on your goals. I’m sure they’ll be great! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

