Home > Uncategorized > Goals, Part 2 – 10 Year Vision

Goals, Part 2 – 10 Year Vision

When I’m not at school or doing whatever training is scheduled for the week, I work for lululemon athletica.  I love it.  It is a fantastic job and I work with great people.  One of the things that makes the company so great is how much they invest in their employees.  The company is dedicated to developing us in every way.  This includes helping us develop our 1 year, 5 year, and 10 year goals.

I have had a love/hate relationship with goals and goal setting.  I have always had goals in mind, but at various points I have pushed back against articulating specific goals (or SMART goals to use the common acronym) because I viewed the future as a fluid thing.  You plan, but hold loosely to that plan and adjust it as necessary.  Any planning, especially for 10 years out, was merely a hypothetical.  I appreciate the value of setting such goals, though, and recognize that you can plan and still roll with the punches of life.

The first step in the goal setting process is to write down a 10 year vision.  It is from this vision of your life that the 1, 5, and 10 year goals stem.  You write it in first person.  You write it as the reality of your life 10 years from this moment.  So here’s mine! Over the next few days I will post my individual goals, showing the steps I will take to make this a reality.

10 Year Vision – My life at Age 39

I wake up with the sun.  It’s an early morning, but I don’t mind.  My wife wakes up beside me and we get up to have a run, bike, swim, or yoga workout.  Our daughter is almost 7, and we like to include her, but she’s not a huge fan of getting up early.  She does love working out with us though!  We have lived on the west coast for a while now, and we love being able to run and bike the trails and the active community has led to fantastic friendships for us all.  After a healthy breakfast, I head to school.  I teach pre-law classes at a local university, and have for several years now.  I also have the pleasure of coaching a local triathlon team and am the faculty sponsor of the college tri-team.  Our family travels quite a bit.  We have a house in Galway, Ireland, where I teach as an adjunct professor at the Galway Center for Human Rights.  We do most of our traveling for our triathlons, but make sure we leave time on either end to enjoy the time together.  Our most recent trip was to Hawaii, where we both competed at the IM World Championship.  The off season is ending, and we are looking forward to another fantastic year!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 8, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I really like the way you do the 10 year vision. Very cool way to put your vision and goal together.

    Now go make it happen!

  2. January 8, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I too like the 10 year vision, very cool to take a long term approach. I like writing where you want to be in 10 years (although I feel old knowing in 10 years you will be 39. I am not telling how old I will be in 10 yrs).

  3. Colleen Kingery
    January 9, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    That’s a really cool thing to do! Thanks for sharing it with us!

    • January 9, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      I too struggle w/ the 10 year goal. The enormity of it all. Feeling like I can’t even get my mind around the next year much less the next 10.. Ok.. my mind is now pretty solidly around this YEAR so maybe I’ll take a stab at the 10 year vision (better than goals… like you said .. it’s a bit more fluid!)…. sounds awesome by the way!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

