Home > Uncategorized > Goals, Part 1

Goals, Part 1

I generally try to avoid the “New Year’s Resolutions” type mentality.  It’s not to say that I don’t believe in goals and change, it’s just that if I see something that I want to change or a goal I want to accomplish, I begin at that moment to make that change/goal a reality.  Having said that, I appreciate the place that symbols have in our lives whether they are days, times of the year, and so on.  This year the idea of the new start that the new year brings has particular significance for me.  And so, today will be the first of a few posts on my goals, not only for the upcoming year and not just for my athletic endeavors, but for my life moving forward over the next few years.

As I articulate these goals, I am not a slave to them.  I hold them loosely, understanding that circumstances change and every goal we have is based on the best information at that moment.  As our understanding or ourselves and our surroundings grow and change, so will our goals.

I don’t find my identity in my goals either.  I am who I am, not what I do.  I am not a victim of my choices in the past nor what I feel the outcome of my life will be.  I am me.  Right now.  I will fail at some of my goals (and if I’m not failing, I’m not reaching far enough).  Those failures don’t define me.  I learn.  I grow.  I reset. I move forward!

I’m starting with the easy goals.  The following are my goals for the 2011 triathlon season.  I have included my previous/current bests and what I hope to achieve this year.

Individual Disciplines

Bike:

Average 20 mph in longer distances (50k-100k+) (Current: 17 mph)

Average 23 mph in Sprint and Oly Distances (Current: 20 mph)

Swim:

1:30 pph avg (Current: 2:00 pph)

Races

10K: sub-45′ (Current: 48:12)

5K: sub-20′ (Current: 21:48)

Sprint: 1:00 (Current: 1:15)

Olympic: 3:00 (Current: 3:21)

Half: sub 6:00 (Current: 7:41)

IMCDA: sub 12:00 (Current: 15:24)

General Fitness

Body comp: Less than 10% body fat (Current: 13%)

Those are very bare bones goals.  Much more task oriented than anything.  Saturday I will begin unpacking my life goals, starting with my 10 year vision.

Tomorrow will be week 2 of the video cast project! Get excited 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 6, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Love you Goal philosophy!! Here is to a fabulous 2011! Excited for the video; I have one that I was too embarrassed to post; so impressed with your confidence! 😀

  2. January 6, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Now I cannot wait to read how you are going to work to get to them!!!! Sounds like one heck of a year you have planned!

    • January 6, 2011 at 2:13 pm

      And that’s the real kicker in setting goals. It’s not just saying what they are, but how you are going to reach them! 🙂

  3. January 6, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    we would be good training buddies if you didn’t live so damn far away… except for the biking – you’re a much faster biker than i. awesome goals… makes me want to look at my own…

    • January 6, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      Hey, Dallas is always looking for a some good flautists 🙂 Any time you want to come on down and do some training bring it on!

  4. January 6, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Brave man for posting a video. Not sure I could go there! One thing you said in there was to make the year one of goals, not of resolutions. LOVE THAT! And this list, I’m guessing, is fairly superficial compared to some of the other goals you have for this upcoming year (just based on hints in that video). Use them as a distraction, as fuel, and as a motivator and I think you’ll at least NET a good year!!! We are here for you! Glad to have you on the team!!

  5. January 6, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Awesome goals! I echo the comment of another training partner, We have a lot in common on where we are and where we want to be, would be interested to hear how you plan on attacking them!

    • January 6, 2011 at 7:50 pm

      Add me to the training partner list! Here is to a great 2011.

  6. January 6, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    Some strong goals Mike! Keep the focus and you’ll surely
    smash them all!

  7. Savannah
    January 7, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Great goals for 2011. Its fun to start the year off with a few new goals. Good luck!

  8. January 7, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Ambitious goals, but I think it’s always a good plan to set the bar very high!! Looking forward to video #2.

  9. January 7, 2011 at 8:48 am

    I think these are awesome goals, and I love your attitude. Holy cow, we have the same HIM PR, and we are dang close on the Oly. You kick my butt on all the running stuff though. Wish we could train together so I could chase you! 🙂

  10. Colleen Kingery
    January 8, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Great goals Mike! Be patient and I think you’ll have great results!

  11. January 9, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Weird… your times for 5k, 10k, sprint distance tris are almost exactly what mine were last year. IDK current ones right now, but where it gets even weirder is as close as our PRs are in those events, they’re not close at all in olympic, half, and full distance. I think that means that you can absolutely drop to the times you want!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

