Home > Uncategorized > Holidays, Part 3 – Merry Christmas

Holidays, Part 3 – Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas everyone!

I’ve obviously been thinking a lot about Christmas and what it means to me, especially this year.

What I love about Christmas is that it is the intersection of the mundane and the profound.  It’s the time when there seems so faint a line between what is and what is possible.  It’s something that the best in us recognizes and wants for every day, but it seems like Christmas is that time when we see past the cynicism and pessimism that usually informs our thought processes.  We admit that miracles can occur.  They don’t have to be huge miracles! It doesn’t have to be God becoming man or peace on earth.  It can be something as small as a change inside us.  It can be finding love where there wasn’t before or finding love where it was thought dead.  It can be a reconnection with those you love or just with yourself.  It can be finding the strength to endure the hardest times or to enjoy the best of them.  I guess, looking at those, the amazing part of it is that none of those miracles seem so small.

I love the story of the Christmas Armistice.  I was a history teacher once upon a time and this was one of my favorite stories.  In the winter of 1914 during World War I, groups of German and British soldiers had an unofficial truce during the holiday season.  They would sign carols back and forth across the trenches, they shared gifts, and even played soccer with one another.  Unfortunately that story doesn’t have a happy ending, as they did continue fighting, but it reminds me that there is something dangerously wonderful about this time of year.

I wish for you the recognition of the miracles in your life.  I wish for you to see the profound and the mundane mixed together to make a life rife with possibility.  I wish for you the strength to endure.  I wish for you the knowledge that you are loved.

I wish you, from the bottom of my heart, a very merry Christmas.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 25, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Merry Christmas!

  2. December 30, 2010 at 6:49 am

    Thanks for the reminder of the Christmas armistice story! I knew it but had forgotten it. I hope yours was a Merry one.

    Happy New Year!

  3. January 5, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Mike!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So an attorney, a priest and a rabbi walk into a bar…….
    Kidding.

    Hoping you are finally able to get some deserved rest after all the “face in textbooks” time.
    Happy New year!

    C.

    • January 5, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      haha. Rest time is over. I’m in a clinic this semester where I’m actually trying cases and that started today. I have to be in court on Friday 🙂

  4. January 5, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    I’ve never been a history buff, but now I’m compelled to go learn something.

    • January 5, 2011 at 10:59 pm

      that’s the best comment a teacher can ask for 🙂

  5. January 6, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Christmas is always a great time to reflect. Spending time with family and friends that you haven’t seen in a while is great, but it’s also neat to sit back and think what Christmas has meant to you over the years. When you were a toddler, teenager, 20 something, married, etc. Christmas is special in so many ways and it means so many different things to different people. Hope you have a great 2011.

  6. January 6, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Thanks for the reminder that we need to sit back and realize the things in life that are given to us. How sometimes little things may seem little to us, but have much more impact than we can imagine. Happy New year!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

