Home > Uncategorized > 30/30 – Day 1 – TMS Duathlon Recap

30/30 – Day 1 – TMS Duathlon Recap

So I’ve decided that, for the month of April, I’m going to blog once a day.  This is a daunting task not because I don’t like to talk (those of you who know me know that I probably talk too much), but because sometimes I’ve just run out of words due to exhaustion, frustration, etc.  So that’s the goal.  Here’s entry number one for the month of April (posted, unfortunately, the second day of April but backdated to last night).

I realized that I haven’t blogged in quite a while now, and during that span there have been several races I’ve run and some training milestones I’ve achieved. The first few posts of this month of blogging will, therefore, be race reviews and thoughts on these new training techniques/additions.

The first race recap (and the farthest back) is the TMS Duathlon. It took place February 21 at the Texas Motor Speedway.  The format was a two mile run around the infield of the speedway followed by a sixteen mile bike (three loops outside the facility) concluding with another two mile run around the same track.  It is a smaller race with only a couple hundred participants, but there were several college teams there including my alma mater, TCU!

Texas weather in February can be hit or miss. February of this year saw the largest snowfall for DFW in history (12 inches) and a couple of 60 degree days. Feb. 21 was a cool day with a chance of storms. The TMS facility is located north of Ft. Worth and is in an area that is guaranteed rain if there is any chance in the forecast.

After arriving and setting up the transition area, we were told that the rain was moving in and the race would be postponed until a lightening cell moved through the area.  As the director said that, the sky opened up and there was a 15 minute monsoon.  Once the rain stopped and the lightening passed, the director got us lined up and we were off!

The first run went well. The two miles were around the infield and it was a two loop course.  I started off fast, as I always seem to do, but didn’t mind because I knew it was a short run.  It was still cooler (in the low 40s if I remember correctly) and because of the delay I wasn’t as loose as I’d been earlier, but I ran through it.  Of course I got plenty of questions about running in my Vibrams and tried to answer as best I could, but pushing my run meant I wasn’t able to talk as easily.  The run went by fast and I ended up in T1 in just over 15:00. I was happy with the time but took a little long in the transition.

The bike took you out of the speedway into the roads and lots outside the complex.  It was a three loop ride with a pretty stout headwind after the third turn.  It’s not a particularly exciting course to ride.  There isn’t much in the way of scenery and it gets monotonous, but it’s not a horrible course.  This was the first time I’d ridden my bike in any sort of competitive setting, so I didn’t know what to expect. I had my Garmin turned on and kept my cadence at 85-95 rpm, but other than that didn’t have much of a strategy on how to be competitive (other than trying to chase down the next person in front of me). It wasn’t too hilly a course and other than the wind it was an uneventful ride.  I pulled back in to T2 at about 55:00 and was decently happy.

This was the point where I knew I needed a new strategy for my transitions. Switching from the vibrams to my bike shoes was simple.  The five fingers come off very easily.  However, switching back into the vibrams when they are wet and my feet were wet was a little more difficult. My T2 time was very slow and I got back out to run the second run leg later than I wanted.  It was the same two loop course again, and I was focused on running well off the bike.  My legs wanted to run faster than my mind knew was a good pace, but that seems to happen when I go from my 90 rpm average on the bike to my pace on the run.  I let myself open up a little at the beginning, again knowing that it was a short run and I could afford to push without the fear of bonking. After a quarter mile at about a 6:15 pace, I forced myself to back off and settle into my regular pace.  Again the run flew by and my Garmin said that my second run was 16:12.

I was happy with the TMS Du.  The race was fun, if a little boring. It was my first multi-sport race of any kind.  On the whole it was a good experience. I was able to get a feel for the transitions and it was good to work on the run off the bike (in a non-brick setting).  I don’t know if I’ll do that particular race again next year, but I’m glad it was a part of my schedule for this season.

In other news the Lonestar 70.3 is three weeks away.  I don’t know if I’m nervous yet, but I definitely get a little rush of adrenaline thinking about it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

