Home > Uncategorized > Thanks for Writing

Thanks for Writing

So I realized I hadn’t updated in a couple of weeks and decided it was time to rectify the situation.  The only problem is that I haven’t written because I haven’t really had much to say.  School is, well, school.  I’ve settled in to the semester. Training progresses. I’ve had good days and bad days, but I’m still pushing forward toward Lone Star in April and Louisville in August.

It has been a down couple of weeks for me on the whole, though.  I haven’t pinpointed why it’s been that way, but it has been.  When I get in a rut, I go look at the course maps, watch a youtube clip, or, most importantly, I surf the blogs of other triathletes and law students to help get my mind right.

Law students are, in general, Type A and can be wound a  little tight.  We tend to be a little cynical (although we label it as realistic) and take a very pragmatic view toward life.  Our 1L year typifies this lifestyle, where we are treading water trying desperately to keep from drowning.  While I have been fortunately to be surrounded by fellow law students (both in person and in the cyber world) who break the mold in this regard, we all still battle the negative and discouraging parts of our character.

This isn’t to say that runners and triathletes don’t also fight these demons nor is it to say that the following isn’t also true about the legal community, but there is something unique about the running world.  I commented on a fellow legal runner’s blog that there is something about the community that is formed through the ordeal of running (and, in a different way, through the ordeal of law school).  It is an encouraging group of which to be a part.  Reading the stories of people who are running for friends, to save lives, to inspire others, to reclaim their lives, or for the challenge helps me keep going.

There are so many blogs that I could mention in addition to these six (here, here, here, and here).  A blog roll won’t contain the number of people out there who inspire me to keep going (here, here, here, and here).  This is, in some small way, a thank you to those of you who write for the rest of us to read.

So keep writing and I’ll keep reading!

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

