Home > Uncategorized > Biking and Bowling

Biking and Bowling

Tonight is a big night here in the Metroplex.  TCU, my alma mater, is in its first BCS bowl game.  While I would much rather be attending the game in person, you better believe I will be watching the game.  Of course, I can’t sacrifice training time and I have two workouts planned for this evening (and one make up from yesterday), so it’s going to be a full night.  It also happens to be one of the last nights before I start school again (on Thursday), so I want to enjoy it as much as possible.

Yesterday’s swim was a better workout for me.  The swim portion of Lonestar will undoubtedly be the most challenging for me.  In my half-dozen or so swims thus far I have been decently frustrated at my performance.  Fortunately I was prepared for this challenge, so I’ve only wanted to scream a couple of times.  With help from my TNT mentor, Rachel, I was able to put some things together yesterday and actually swim the pool.  It felt pretty good, but I’m still struggling with my breathing.  Baby steps, though.

Because of the Cowboys’ game and the swim workout, I didn’t get my bike in last night as I’d hoped.  That means tonight I’ll be enjoying the Fiesta Bowl from the comfort of my trainer 🙂 It just means that I’ll be shouting from my bike instead of pacing the living room while the game is playing.

Once again I’d like to thank my growing number of readers (had 45 hits yesterday, which is amazing to me) and those who’ve donated.  This is all to help cure Leukemia and Lymphoma (at least the TNT part is).  If you want to donate, please click on the TNT page link.  Every little bit helps and is greatly appreciated!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 7, 2010 at 6:49 am

    When I first started swimming last year, I had a similar experience with getting the rhythm and feeling like I was actually swimming versus trying to stay alive. Rest assured, however, that the time you put in the pool will pay off. It’s a little frustrating at first, but celebrate the little successes. Happy training!

  2. January 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement! The last couple of swims have been better. I knew (and know) that it’s going to be baby steps. To be a little cliche, I figure “just keep swimming, just keep swimming!” 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

