Home > Uncategorized > Everything Zen?

Everything Zen?

I don’t think so!

But, I did have a break through in running over the past week or two.

For the first time maybe ever, I reached another level in my running.  During my runs last week I stopped thinking about the run and worrying about my legs and feet.  I just ran.  I was doing a 45 minute run for the Lonestar 70.3 and I just ran.  I don’t know how to describe the feeling, but something clicked.  Suddenly, without me realizing it, 15 minutes had passed, then 30, then 45.  It was like I was running for just a couple of minutes.  I felt great!

The pattern repeated itself on my long run yesterday.  It was a 75 minute jaunt.  While not so long for some, this is from a guy who, two and a half months ago, couldn’t hardly make it two miles.  While I could feel it toward the end of the run, things were just smooth and easy.  Admittedly, this could be a result of me not pushing enough, but I was still running at my 10k pace.  It was such a good feeling to run and not be worried that I wouldn’t make it.

Now the challenge is to translate that to the run and swim.  The swim is going to be the real challenge.  I am still working on my form and just trying to get the technique down.  The day I have a zen moment on the swim, everyone will probably hear my shout of joy, and if not you will definitely hear about it here on the blog 🙂

In other news, two new pages are up; one on why I run and the other on why I’m in law school (which I start back up on Thursday, so you will be seeing more law related posts once again soon).

Make sure you cheer on my Horned Frogs tomorrow night against Boise State.  GO FROGS!!!!

Have also received some donations for my Ironman 70.3!  Thanks Kent, KD, and Anonymous for donating!  Y’all are rock stars!  Check out the TNT page on the side and, if you feel inclined, please give to help cure Leukemia and Lymphoma!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

